Quality Assurance

ISTQB V 4.0 of Certified Tester Foundation Level

The International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB) announced the release of version 4.0 of its Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) certification today. 

The new certification, developed with a focus on industry demands and contemporary software development and testing approaches, marks a significant update to the renowned ISTQB Certified Tester scheme.

The CTFL 4.0 release package comprises several essential components, including :

  • ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level Syllabus v4.0, 
  • CTFL 4.0 Sample Exam (Questions and Answers – Set A v1.0)
  • Updated Exam Structure and Rules document v1.6. 
  • These documents are now available for download on the official ISTQB website.

To align with the release of CTFL 4.0, the ISTQB Glossary has been revised to reflect the latest changes and advancements in the field of software testing.

The comprehensive content of the new syllabus effectively addresses 14 Business Outcomes through 64 Learning Objectives. By prioritizing these outcomes, the ISTQB aims to equip professionals with the necessary skills and knowledge required for successful software testing in the present-day context.

Rules for Training Centers

Accredited training providers seeking to deliver courses for CTFL 4.0 must apply for accreditation, as outlined in the CTFL 4.0 Accreditation Guidelines. 

It is mandatory for trainers to hold either the CTFL 4.0 certification or a previous version of CTFL, in addition to the Certified Tester Agile Tester certification.

For individuals who possess previous versions of the CTFL certification, it is important to note that they will retain their certified status without the need for re-taking the exam. However, considering the updated skills covered in CTFL 4.0, they may choose to undertake the latest version to validate their proficiency.

Sunset Dates

 Sunset Dates For the CTFL 3.1 certification:

  • English syllabus, exams, and accredited training: May 9, 2024
  • Other language syllabuses, exams, and accredited training: November 9, 2024

In adherence to these dates, all relevant materials and courses associated with CTFL 3.1 will no longer be supported or available after the specified sunset dates.

CTFL Version 4.0

With the release of CTFL version 4.0, this new syllabus becomes the current prevailing version. Accredited training courses now necessitate a minimum of 1135 minutes (equivalent to 18 hours and 55 minutes) of instruction, divided across the six chapters outlined in the syllabus.

To ensure high-quality training, all course material providers must undergo accreditation in accordance with the ISTQB Accreditation Process and the CTFL Accreditation Guidelines.

Final Words

The release of CTFL 4.0 represents a substantial leap forward in the field of software testing, enabling professionals to stay up-to-date with the latest industry practices. As the industry continues to evolve, the ISTQB remains committed to delivering certifications that are relevant and valuable to testers worldwide.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *